Assault Cases

When you or a loved one is charged with an assault case, you need an aggressive lawyer with the experience and legal knowledge it takes to get you the best result possible. The best assault lawyers have experience, investigate their cases thoroughly, and aren’t afraid to fight for their clients. If you’re looking for that type of lawyer, you’ve found Mike Howard, award-winning Dallas criminal lawyer.

Call 214-296-2221 To schedule a consultation


A Proven Track Record

State vs. PM - Assault Family Violence - NOT GUILTY!

State vs. TY - Assault Family Violence - NOT GUILTY!

State vs. BW - Assault- DISMISSED BY THE GRAND JURY!

State vs. JN - Assault - DISMISSED!

State vs. OB - Aggravated Assault - MISDEMEANOR REDUCTION & DEFERRED PROBATION

State vs. LR - Aggravated Assault - MISDEMEANOR REDUCTION & DEFERRED PROBATION


Assault

A person commits assault if they cause bodily injury to another person. “Bodily injury” doesn’t necessarily mean bruises, cuts, and broken bones; in Texas “bodily injury” simply means anything that causes pain. So if a person says that you slapped them and it caused pain, even if there is no visible sign, that’s assault in Texas. 

A person also commits assault if they intentionally or knowing threatens another with imminent bodily injury. 

Assault is generally a Class A misdemeanor which carries a possible punishment range of up to a year in the county jail and a fine of up to $4,000.

Assault Family Violence 

A person commits assault family violence if they cause bodily injury to a person who is a member of their family or household or with whom they have a dating relationship. “Bodily injury” doesn’t necessarily mean bruises, cuts, and broken bones; in Texas “bodily injury” simply means anything that causes pain. So if your wife/brother/roommate says that you slapped them and it caused pain, even if there is no visible sign, that’s assault family violence in Texas.

Assault Family Violence is a Class A misdemeanor which carries a possible punishment range of up to a year in the county jail and a fine of up to $4,000. Instead of jail time, assault can carry up to 2 years of probation. If the accused has been convicted of two previous assault family violence cases, the third allegation becomes a third-degree felony, carrying a possible punishment range of 2 - 10 years in prison.. 

If the allegation is that you committed assault family violence by impeding the person’s breathing or circulation (choking or smothering them), that is a third-degree felony, carrying a possible punishment range of 2 - 10 years in prison.

Aggravated Assault

A person commits aggravated assault if they cause bodily injury to another using a deadly weapon or cause serious bodily injury to another. “Bodily injury” doesn’t necessarily mean bruises, cuts, and broken bones; in Texas “bodily injury” simply means anything that causes pain. A person also commits aggravated assault if they intentionally or knowingly threaten another with imminent bodily injury using a deadly weapon. 

Aggravated assault is generally a second-degree felony, carrying a possible punishment range of 2 - 20 years in prison, up to a $10,000 fine.


The information contained on this website is for informational purposes and should not be construed as legal advice, a substitute for legal advice, or as creating an attorney/client relationship between the reader and the Law Office of Mike Howard. Consult an attorney about your specific situation and the facts involved for comprehensive legal advice.